Halloween Books for Kids

beautiful blue easter background with chicks 2021 09 03 04 15 32 utc

Halloween Books for Kids! Check out these spooky Halloween books for kids of all ages.

a944fc73 3a81 4218 96e0 8e1b899973ee

The Ghostly Tales of San Diego by Selena Fragassi
$12.99; ArcadiaPublishing.com
Ghost stories from San Diego, California have never been so creepy, fun, and full of mystery. The haunted history of San Diego comes to life—even when the main players are dead. Wander into the shops of Old Town, just keep your eye out for shoppers who might have died long ago. Or check into the Cosmopolitan Hotel for a glimpse of guests who checked in but never checked out. Dive into this spooky chapter book for suspenseful tales of bumps in the night, paranormal investigations, and the unexplained; just be sure to keep the light on.

Screen Shot 2022 09 20 at 1.42.49 PM

Trick or Treat Yourself: A Little Book of Mischief
$10.99; Amazon.com
Share your love of tricks and treats with this adorable, full-color giftable book from Brown, Cony, Sally, and the rest of the BROWN & FRIENDS squad. Filled with inspirational quotes, advice, lessons and kawaii illustrations that will lift anyone's spirit and make them smile.

9781912634552

Novice Witches and Apprentice Wizards by Francesca Matteoni
$18.99; UnionSquareandCo.com
An exciting probe into the history of witchcraft and a directory of the tools, sacred objects, animal familiars, and classic spells associated with the craft. This book will take you through the folklore and history of each topic, all alongside beautiful illustrations. 

stories to keep you alive despite vampires 9781665917001 lg

Stories to Keep You Alive Despite Vampires by Ben Acker
$17.99;  SimonandSchuster.com
This fourth wall–breaking middle grade collection of spooky, scary, and spoopy stories for fans of Lemony Snicket and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark might just help you survive the night in a house full of vampires.

the clackity 9781665902670 lg

The Clackity by Lora Senf
$17.99; SimonandSchuster.com
This deliciously eerie middle grade novel tells the story of a girl who must enter a world of ghosts, witches, and monsters to play a game with deadly consequences and rescue her aunt.

grounded for all eternity 9781534483361 lg

Grounded For All Eternity by Darcy Marks
$18.99; Simonandschuster.com
A group of kids from hell come to Earth on one of the craziest nights of the year—Halloween—in this snarky, witty middle grade adventure about teamwork, friendship, shattering expectations, and understanding the world (or otherworld) around us.

bunnicula 9781534421615 lg

Bunnicula The Graphic Novel by James Howe & Andrew Donkin
$19.99; Simonandschuster.com
Celebrate over forty years of the modern classic Bunnicula with this fang-tastic graphic novelization that will send a shiver down your spine and leave you howling with laughter!

Published: September 2022

Craft and Activity Books

Craft and Activity Books

Craft Activities and Books! Expand your child's creativity and imagination with these diverse craft activities and books for kids of all ages (parents will love them too!). Peanuts Origami: 20+ A . . .

Read more

STEM Books for Kids

STEM Books for Kids

Looking for ways to inspire curiosity, encourage exploration and teach problem-solving skills at home? Here are awesome STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) books for kids. Bake Infin . . .

Read more

Books that Inspire All Ages

Books that Inspire All Ages

Books that Inspire All Ages. Unique stories about overcoming adversity and how hard work and believing in yourself pay off. Kids will love reading about people who turned their ideas and dreams into . . .

Read more

Great Cookbooks for Families

Great Cookbooks for Families

Love cookbooks? So do we! Here are cookbooks that offer something for everyone — kid-friendly cookbooks, busy weeknight dinners, family meals, desserts and more. Cakes for Kids: 40 Easy Re . . .

Read more

8 Books Moms Should Read with Their Daughters

8 Books Moms Should Read with Their Daughters

It’s easy for moms to get caught up in daily obligations and never get around to talking about important issues with their daughters. Even if you do find time, sitting down for “a talk” probab . . .

Read more

Local Author Salina Yoon Creates Children’s Book with Marie Kondo

Local Author Salina Yoon Creates Children’s Book with Marie Kondo

Salina Yoon, San Diego mom and children’s book author who has sold 4.5 million copies worldwide, recently collaborated on a book with tidiness expert and Netflix star Marie Kondo. Their charming p . . .

Read more

Women's History Month Books and Activities for Kids

Women's History Month Books and Activities for Kids

March is Women's History Month. Check out these beautiful books and activities that celebration of the vital role of women in American history. I am Mozart, Too: The Lost Genius of Maria Ann . . .

Read more

Black History Books for Kids

Black History Books for Kids

February is Black History Month -- does your family have plans to celebrate or acknowledge it? Books are a great way to expose children to various cultures, experiences, and important parts of histo . . .

Read more

Books that Help Children Learn About Civil Rights

Books that Help Children Learn About Civil Rights

The struggle for civil rights and racial equality in the U.S. during the 1950s and 1960s is important for children to learn about. Milestones in The Civil Rights Movement often involve violence, so . . .

Read more

San Diego Family Magazine Logo

Be Family Informed – Sign up for our Newsletters below!