Discover the historic connection between The Wonderful Wizard of Oz series and these must-see sites in Coronado California.

L. Frank Baum, the famous author of America's classic Wizard of Oz series, resided in the Midwest but spent many of his winters in Southern California. He often stayed at our own Hotel del Coronado. While staying at the hotel, not only did Baum enjoy the sunshine, but he also wrote some of his Oz books there.

Hotel Del CoronadoHere are seven fun and surprising sights around Coronado Island that inspired Baum’s literary works or were inspired by the author's visits to the "Emerald" isle.

1. With its iconic red castle-like turrets and fairy tale setting, The Hotel del Coronado was Baum's inspiration for the Emerald City.  Did you know that Coronado is also nicknamed "the Emerald City?"

2. The Hotel del Coronado's grand Crown Room is home to four spectacular crown-shaped chandeliers designed by Baum, which visitors can still enjoy seeing today.

Baum House in Coronado3. L. Frank Baum's historic Coronado home (1101 Star Park Circle), is a quaint yellow house that he rented during his stays. This is where he wrote three books in the Oz series: “Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz,” “The Emerald City of Oz” and “The Road to Oz.” Baum also wrote sections of “The Marvelous Land of Oz” while staying in Corornado.  Local tip! From the sidewalk, see if you can spot the face of the Wicked Witch peering out from the side of this home.

4. Be sure to stop by the Coronado Museum of History and Art (1100 Orange Avenue) to see the three First Editions Oz books by Baum.  Admission to the museum is free.  Oz Fans! Be sure to visit the museum's gift shop, which has many unique Wizard of Oz gifts and souvenirs.

Dorthy from Wizard of Oz5. The Wizard of Oz Glass Art Exhibit at the Coronado Public Library, (640 Orange Ave) where Baum's storybook jumps off the pages onto nine huge glass panels depicting Dorthy, the cowardly Lion, Scarecrow, Tin Man, Glenda the Good Witch, Munchkins and more.

6. Want more fascinating facts and interesting tidbits about Coronado and Baum's time on the island? Book a historic guided walking tour from Coronado Touring.  The tour departs Thursdays and Saturdays from Glorietta Bay inn and travels through downtown Coronado stopping at fun sites along the way.

7. If you need a place to stay, consider spending the night in the "Author's Study" at bed and breakfast 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach.  This room features framed art prints of the glittery Ruby Slippers, Dorothy meeting the cowardly Lion and original book cover of The Wizard of Oz book, plus an autobiography on Baum.  Fun Fact!  L. Frank Baum's great grandson stayed at the 1906 Lodge in 2009.

Thanks to the San Diego Convention & Visitors Bureau for supplying these fun things to do in Coronado, CA!

 

  • Help for families with speical needs

  • Fun holiday events for the family!

  • Fun Holiday Events for the Family

Publications

  • San Diego Family Magazine

    San Diego Family Magazine

    Have you ever read something great in a magazine and then been frustrated because you can't remember where you put it? Well, so have we! That's why we think it's a fabulous idea to have the entire publication available to read online! Simply click the link below and use the arrows to turn the pages. You can search by area, event, location, or advertiser.

    Click Here to Read Online

  • Out & About

    Out & About

    All dressed up and no where to go? With Out & About, you'll never have to utter (or hear) the words "I'm bored" again!  Use this resource to find oodles of fun things to do in specific areas of San Diego County.

    Click Here to Read Online

  • Flourishing Families

    Flourishing Families

    Resources for Families with Special Needs

    Flourishing Families is the Parent Resource Guide for Children with Special Needs that contains over 950 resources in San Diego County. Read informative articles that offer help and encouragement to families with special needs. Sign up to receive our bi-monthly eNewsletter, keeping you connected to current and relevant information in the community. Ready to get out of the house? When you join our online community, you'll also discover fun family-friendly activities and events.

    Click Here to Read Online

About Us

From its humble origins as a black & white, tabloid-style newspaper, the goal has been to "provide educational articles, resources & information with a focus on family issues."

Learn more.

Find Us On...

Join other parent enthusiasts on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and other social networks!

Advertising Information

Reach out to San Diego's biggest consumer segment and help your business grow!

Learn more.

San Diego Family Magazine Logo

Be Family Informed – Sign up for our Newsletters below!